What Would Jesus Say To Many First-World Christians?

Lazy Day

Lazy Day

A friend posted on Facebook commenting that the thought of the Rapture is making Christians lazy. Just hunker down and pray for Jesus to come back. It reminded me of a quote I read from an author I forgot, “the problem with most Christians now is no one is trying to kill them.”

There’s an insight in that, in our First World culture we can afford to have a shallow faith. In other countries, you can be exiled from your family, imprisoned, beaten and even killed if you don’t denounce Jesus. For the most part, we’re afraid to even live our faith here. The attitude I see is the thought that as long as you’re in church on Sunday, then you’re good.

If that’s you, then Jesus has some words for you.

These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.

Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent. Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.

To the one who is victorious, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat down with my Father on his throne.

Revelation 3:14-21

Lukewarm and Helpless

Have you ever drank lukewarm water? It’s tepid and tastes bad. Hot water you can cook with, cold water refreshes, but lukewarm water is just useless. It has no purpose.

Our western culture has gotten materialistic and commercialized. The church is shrinking here. One reason is that it stands for little or nothing. It’s getting to be more about soothing your conscience and feeling good.

It’s weakened us. We’re in a culture where our self-reliance blinds us to our pride. In the end, it means nothing, we can’t take anything with us. There is nothing we can use to get to God that he didn’t provide us with to start with. Jesus said, “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.” 

That’s what’s important.

That’s Harsh…

Didn’t Jesus say not to judge? Half true. Don’t hypocritically judge. Judge rightly by calling out f7e73355f91c498f463fadc7ed8b8294behavior that will harm them from a spirit of reconciliation and love. Not condemnation and retaliation.

Jesus loves us too much to let us continue on a path of self-destruction without saying anything. He’s calling you to let him into your life. Let him into your home to start a relationship with you, then one day you’ll see the place he’s prepared for you in his home.

Hopefully, no one will try to kill you, however, a person without enemies has never stood for anything. What do you stand for?

Leave a comment