Something Greater Than Self-Confidence

Do you know anyone who has it all together? A person who walks through life undisturbed by anything. Picture them in your mind. Do you wonder how they do it?

I was studying the fifth chapter in the Gospel of John a few weeks back and a few things popped out at me. Jesus wasn’t worried about what people thought of him, and he also knew just what to do. What was his secret?

I  am able to do nothing from Myself [independently, of My own accord—but only as I am taught by God and as I get His orders]. Even as I hear, I judge [I decide as I am bidden to decide. As the voice comes to Me, so I give a decision], and My judgment is right (just, righteous), because I do not seek or consult My own will [I have no desire to do what is pleasing to Myself, My own aim, My own purpose] but only the will and pleasure of the Father Who sent Me.” John 5: 30 AMP

I do not accept glory from human beings, but I know you. I know that you do not have the love of God in your hearts.” John 5: 41-42

He did what God did and said. His motivation wasn’t the praise of others either. When we act without expecting praise, then a lot can be accomplished.

What does that mean for us?

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11: 28-30

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4: 11-13

Oxen were usually yoked together. Jesus is in the yoke with us, like Jesus taught in John 5 about being in touch with God and listening for Him. He responds in a variety of ways. Common ones for me are:

  • Impressions: feeling that something should be done in this way
  • Bible verses may come to mind
  • A sudden idea that pops into your mind

I have to warn you that it cannot be contrary to what the Bible teaches. As I wrote about previously from A Spirit-Empowered Life, we move forward while praying up for direction. Get God working in your life, stay in His will. If you’re not acting in a way contrary to what He’s laid out in the Bible then you can be sure you’re in it.

What would you add to this?

Leave a Reply

