Thinking Things Through

I have discovered a bit of a protective streak when it comes to seekers searching for the truth or help and the younger Christians who have not really had the reasons they believe tested. I have not been directly challenged in mine; however, I do see stuff that makes me investigate further. Most of the time, the tactic that Paul instructed Timothy to do in 2 Timothy 2:23-26 and not get involved in pointlessness. However, if I see a misrepresentation as an obstacle, then I will step in as a case-maker.

To do that, we have to know the case along with the reasons we trust that it is sound. When we have the big picture, then we can recognize anything that twists it. Then if we engage, we are able to put it into context. When a quote is posted, I will ask questions to help me define the terms and to see if it is logical; it also makes the one answering learn how well they understand it. It also serves to keep me from making an assumption, instead keeping a dialogue going so I do not give an opinion, dropping the mic and exiting stage right. Finally, some are such blatant misconceptions I have to speak up. One comment I saw was, ‘they wouldn’t let me into Heaven even if I wanted to go.’ Sarcasm or despair, I was not sure, but every soul matters to God.

We have to know our stuff; Christians have the stereotype of anti-intellectualism as evidenced by a comment on a meme. The meme said ‘I killed my voice of reason, the sucker had to go…’ and a commenter finished it with, ‘said the born-again Christian.’ I smiled at the generalization. He is not completely wrong. Though it is not a Christian or religious thing, it is a people thing. Throughout history, big ideas and their representatives have done good and bad in the name of _______.”

The comment had me wondering how many people have thought through their worldviews-the big picture-with a harmony of all their beliefs about the world. Have they sat down to answer four questions: where did we come from, why are we here, what is wrong with the world, and how can we fix it? The answers become part of our map of reality that plays a part in our decision-making.

Going deeper, have we done the math to see how our opinions look in application? Have we accounted for the uniqueness of individuals and human freedom? What ethical system of thought will govern our decision-making? Is it Utilitarianism, Deontology, Virtue Ethics, Objectivism, or Judeo-Christian? How will we interpret the evidence – with abductive reasoning, or presuppositional? How do the rules of logic account for this?

I think being unreasonable is human nature. Not many of us are as rational as we would like to be. With the overload of information we get from everywhere around us, we could do with a new habit. Find a quiet place to work through it before we are carried away without reason.

2 thoughts on “Thinking Things Through

Leave a Reply

