Forward?

Since the via negativa post we have knocked out one of the goals, we have moved into a house for a fresh start and a new chapter. Everything was approaching critical mass while I wondered how we would pull it off. A friend at work listened to me vent, think aloud at possible solutions, and when I stopped he said two words. “401k loan.”

A loan that size I definitely wanted to be sure we were operating in God’s will. I have been outside of it and it does not go well, especially when I compared it. So we tried fasting and prayer, from what I have heard they were the spiritual big guns, not really sensing a direction. We had doors closing behind us, so was this a leap of faith?

We jumped.

In the short term, we will have to tighten our belts a little. Using the via negativa principle I had to cut out what wasn’t helping the cause, sadly that included jeet kune do, going out money, among other things. We have lived on less, and there are people with a lot less so really I cannot complain.

With the loan secured, we got serious about finding a rent house. Casey hit Craigslist, I tackled Zillow and Trulia, reaching out to the contact people, investigating the levels of crime and if we can have all our pets. A few were under one real estate company so I suggested just stopping by the office to look at them all at once after Casey put her eye on one home.

Soon as we arrived, a young couple was putting a deposit on it. We picked a couple of others nearby to look at, a white one with a nice exterior and an okay interior along with a blue one with an okay exterior and a nice inside. She loved the blue one as soon as she walked in. Obviously I agreed because well…happy wife=happy life. In addition, it met all my criteria: low crime, affordable, fenced in backyard, and roomy.

A filled out application, payment and a set of keys later we have a home. After stepping in faith, it seemed like doors sprung open. I will caution you, circumstances’ lining up is not a direction but it can be a verification. My truck was broken; I was planning to rent one when a check surprised us in the mail. Between it and my performance bonus, my truck was good as fixed and it was done in time to move. We needed a refrigerator, and a small one costs close to $400, and a friend at church got in touch with his brother who worked estate sales. We got a used one that was much bigger for half that. My wife got a table cheaper than what was offered without haggling. We were approved for the home in less than five minutes, our previously non-existent credit now excellent. Plus we got to keep our pets.

It has been a busy couple of weeks and worth it. Just wanted to share.

One thought on “Forward?

Leave a Reply

