Abyss Rising

A few months ago, a friend of mine offered to do some pro bono graphic design work for my publishing company Abyss Press for a class assignment; however, the assignment changed so I paid him with a book for the work. To get an idea of what to design he asked some questions.

Answering a question on the company’s values and beliefs I stated: Values: Integrity, Honesty, Thinking For Yourself. Beliefs: Questioning Everything, Accepting Nothing Blindly, Even the Answers.

Then one on what I promise to those who read my work to which I replied: Honesty, I write what I believe, nothing less. Quality, 110% my best, Fair Price.

What is the significance of the word Abyss? The depths of the mind. Then I summed up the company overall:

Abyss Press is very small, owned and operated solely by me. Usually focuses on politics and societal and cultural issues. What I like to do with my writing, is to break down the subject matter where a 6 year old can understand it in a conversation, much like the Albert Einstein quote.

From that came two eagle designs, a samurai, abyss kanji and broken chains; along with font designs for Abyss for me to pick or discard. I liked the eagles so he went back and tightened the designs.

From this came a black distorted eagle with Abyss overhead and an Eagle attacking a snake with the words Question Everything below. That last one was good enough to be on a flag but did not really fit Abyss. It felt…too American. I liked the concept of it though, the courage to attack the lies. However, the black eagle, yeah that fits with Abyss.

I suggested combining the two and my wife said put Ronin inside the eagle. I liked the idea so I went with that. It didn’t fit so Brandon used the kanji for truth and it was love at first sight. He sent the black eagle with a white kanji and a white eagle with the black kanji, opted for the white eagle since my books are black. Nevertheless, the black one is my phone wallpaper now.

Therefore, I present to you the finished logo, mission statement and slogan of Abyss Press:


Mission Statement
“From the depths of the mind we present honesty and integrity after questioning everything with a critical eye. Welcome to a dark reality.”

Slogan

From the darkness, the truth shall emerge.

(Brandon Ryals came up with this one)

Thoughts? Also the new website and webstore is up here

Leave a Reply

