“Everything Happens For A Reason.”

Have you ever in a time of grief hear that or similar.

“Everything happens for a reason.”

Now on a logical level I know this true, but its not what I need to hear. Not then. And I know it’s because when someone’s friend is breaking down in front of them they don’t really know what to say or do to help. You can’t fix the  past.

That phrase makes me want to drive my fist into someone and say, “That happened for a reason.” That won’t help them feel better. Which is why I’m uncomfortable in situations like that. I’m a fixer, I want to fix the problem, but sometimes you can’t. All you can do is be there for them. An ear to listen to them, or a shoulder to cry on.

I held the tears until I got to the car, and they’ve been sporadic ever since. But I’ll get through it. Probably by writing. Or training.

One thought on ““Everything Happens For A Reason.”

  1. Hey bro, for some odd reason, I think that I’m starting to feel your pain over what happened. I know it must hurt alot to hear such bad news like that and like the title says: Everything Happens for a reason. You know.I guess God meant for it to happen, but I just hate that it happened.

    Like

Leave a Reply

